clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Where UK recruits stand in The Circuit’s inaugural All-Circuit teams

Shaedon Sharpe and Reed Sheppard were among the award-winners.

HypedUP TV and Courtside Films

With the 2021 grassroots basketball season officially over, The Circuit has put together their first ever 17U All-Circuit teams.

Players from the Nike EYBL, Adidas 3SSB, Under Armour Association, and other elite independent programs were eligible for the awards.

The inaugural awards include several players that may be playing their college ball in Lexington.

Shaedon Sharpe was named The Circuit’s Offensive Player of the Year following his outstanding summer that saw him average 24 points, 6.6 rebounds, 2.8 assists, and a steal.

The 6-foot-5 guard proved that he is an elite scorer and his recent commitment to the Kentucky Wildcats gave the Cats their first No. 1 overall player since Nerlens Noel.

On the other end of the floor, Kentucky target Dereck Lively was named Defensive Player of the Year. He averaged 8.4 points, 6.7 rebounds, and 3.7 blocks.

Lively is making his college decision on Monday and many believe it is a two-team battle between Duke and Kentucky. The 7-foot-2 center is currently ranked as the No. 2 overall player in the 2022 class.

One player that has had the BBN excited this summer has been the emergence of Reed Sheppard, who is part of the 2023 class.

Sheppard averaged 17.5 points, 5.6 rebounds, 3.3 assists, and 2.4 steals. The Circuit has named him the Underclassmen Player of the Year.

This was a massive summer for Sheppard, as he burst onto the scene and scored an official offer from John Calipari after he saw him play in person.

The Circuit also gave out a Performance of the Year award, and it went to none other than Shaedon Sharpe for his incredible 47-point, 6 rebound performance in a win over E1T1 United. Sharpe was 20/29 from the floor in that game and went 4/8 from 3.

As for the complete 17U All-Circuit teams, here is where Kentucky recruits stand.

1st Team:

· Shaedon Sharpe

· Cason Wallace

2nd Team:

· Dereck Lively

· Reed Sheppard

You can check out the full award list and All-Circuit teams here.