clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Every NCAA Champion and Final Four team

Baylor joins the list of champions after their triumph over Gonzaga.

Baylor v Gonzaga Photo by Jamie Squire/Getty Images

Good morning, BBN!

With Baylor’s dominant victory over Gonzaga, the Bears join the prestigious list of NCAA Tournament champions as the 36th current D1 team with a championship. Only 15 current D1 teams (CCNY is gone) have multiple NCAA Tournament titles, and fortunately UCLA didn’t snag a 12th one in their torrent run. Here’s the complete list:

National Titles:

  1. UCLA — 11
  2. Kentucky — 8
  3. North Carolina — 6
  4. Indiana — 5
  5. Duke — 5
  6. UConn — 4
  7. Kansas — 3
  8. Villanova — 3
  9. Cincinnati — 2
  10. Florida — 2
  11. Louisville — 2
  12. Michigan State — 2
  13. NC State — 2
  14. Oklahoma State — 2
  15. San Francisco — 2
  16. Oregon
  17. Wisconsin
  18. Stanford
  19. Wyoming
  20. Utah
  21. Holy Cross
  22. La Salle
  23. California
  24. Ohio State
  25. Loyola Chicago
  26. Texas Western (UTEP)
  27. Marquette
  28. Georgetown
  29. Michigan
  30. UNLV
  31. Arkansas
  32. Arizona
  33. Maryland
  34. Syracuse
  35. Virginia
  36. Baylor

It’s amazing what kind of teams have risen and fallen over the decades of this sport, with smaller conference schools like UTEP and La Salle building a championship team way back when. Here’s another list, this one with every school to make the Final Four and how many times they did it:

Final Fours:

20: North Carolina

18: UCLA

17: Kentucky

16: Duke

15: Kansas

10: Michigan State, Ohio State

8: Indiana, Louisville

6: Arkansas, Cincinnati, Houston, Michigan, Oklahoma State, Syracuse

5: Connecticut, Florida, Georgetown, Illinois, Oklahoma, Villanova

4: Arizona, Kansas State, LSU, UNLV, Utah, Wisconsin

3: Baylor, California, Iowa, Marquette, N.C. State, San Francisco, Texas, Virginia

2: Bradley, Butler, Colorado, Dartmouth, DePaul, Georgia Tech, Gonzaga, Holy Cross, La Salle, Loyola-Chicago, Maryland, Oregon, Oregon State, Providence, Purdue, St. John’s, Stanford, Temple, USC, West Virginia, Wichita State

1: Auburn, Charlotte, Dayton, Drake, Duquesne, Florida State, George Mason, Georgia, Iowa State, Indiana State, Jacksonville, Memphis, Mississippi State, New Mexico State, Notre Dame, Penn, Penn State, Pittsburgh, Princeton, Rutgers, Santa Clara, Seattle, Seton Hall, SMU, South Carolina, St. Bonaventure, Texas Tech, UTEP, VCU, Wake Forest, Washington, Washington State, Wyoming

No first timers to the Final Four this year—in 2019 Auburn and Texas Tech made it for the first time though.

Hmm, Kentucky 17 Final Fours and UCLA 18 Final Fours. Need to even that one up again next year.

Go ‘Cats!