clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Media predicts preseason All-SEC teams, order of finish; 4 Cats included

Who will win the SEC East? The conference championship? The media sounds off.

Kash Daniel Jason Marcum - Sea of Blue

The college football season is just over a month away, and now we have an idea of how the SEC ‘could’ play out in 2019.

On Friday, the media released its preseason All-SEC picks, as well a the predicted order of finish for both divisions and who will be the 2019 SEC champs.

Alabama received 203 votes to be crowned champions of the SEC on December 7 in Atlanta at Mercedes-Benz Stadium, while Georgia was second with 49 votes. Only seven times since 1992 has the predicted champion at SEC Media Days proceeded to win the SEC Championship Game.

Georgia is the favorite to win the SEC East, but Kentucky did get one first-place vote. In addition, four Wildcats received preseason All-SEC team picks in center Drake Jackson, guard Logan Stenberg, linebacker Kash Daniel and receiver/returner Lynn Bowden.

Here is a look at the predicted order of finish for every SEC school and how many votes each team received (first-place place votes in parenthesis):


  • Georgia (233) 1789
  • Florida (21) 1499
  • Missouri (3) 1149
  • South Carolina (1) 883
  • Tennessee (1) 804
  • Kentucky (1) 798
  • Vanderbilt 358


  • Alabama (253) 1813
  • LSU (5) 1493
  • Texas A&M 1268
  • Auburn (1) 1090
  • Mississippi State (1) 769
  • Ole Miss 504
  • Arkansas 343


  • Alabama 203
  • Georgia 49
  • LSU 3
  • Mississippi State 1
  • Tennessee 1
  • Florida 1
  • South Carolina 1
  • Auburn 1

2019 Preseason All-SEC Team



QB Tua Tagovailoa, Alabama

RB D’Andre Swift, Georgia

RB Najee Harris, Alabama

WR Jerry Jeudy, Alabama

WR Henry Ruggs III, Alabama

TE Albert Okwuegbunam, Missouri

OL Andrew Thomas, Georgia

OL Alex Leatherwood, Alabama

OL Prince Tega Wanogho, Auburn

OL Jedrick Wills Jr., Alabama

C Lloyd Cushenberry, LSU


QB Jake Fromm, Georgia

RB Ke’Shawn Vaughn, Vanderbilt

RB Lamical Perine, Florida

WR Kalija Lipscomb, Vanderbilt

WR Jaylen Waddle, Alabama

TE Jared Pinkney, Vanderbilt

OL Solomon Kindley, Georgia

OL Damien Lewis, LSU

OL Tre’Vour Wallace-Simms, Missouri

OL Isaiah Wilson, Georgia

C Darryl Williams, Mississippi State


QB Joe Burrow, LSU

RB Larry Rountree, Missouri

RB JaTarvious Whitlow, Auburn

WR Justin Jefferson, LSU

WR Bryan Edwards, South Carolina

TE *Miller Forristall, Alabama

TE *Charlie Woerner, Georgia

OL Deonte Brown, Alabama

OL Ben Cleveland, Georgia

OL Logan Stenberg, Kentucky

OL Matt Womack, Alabama

C Drake Jackson, Kentucky



DL Raekwon Davis, Alabama

DL Derrick Brown, Auburn

DL Rashard Lawrence, LSU

DL Jabari Zuniga, Florida

LB Dylan Moses, Alabama

LB Anfernee Jennings, Alabama

LB Erroll Thompson, Mississippi State

DB Grant Delpit, LSU

DB J.R. Reed, Georgia

DB Trevon Diggs, Alabama

DB C.J. Henderson, Florida


DL Nick Coe, Auburn

DL Justin Madubuike, Texas A&M

DL Marlon Davidson, Auburn

DL Javon Kinlaw, South Carolina

LB Cale Garrett, Missouri

LB De’Jon Harris, Arkansas

LB David Reese II, Florida

DB Patrick Surtain II, Alabama

DB Xavier McKinney, Alabama

DB Kristian Fulton, LSU

DB Cameron Dantzler, Mississippi State


DL LaBryan Ray, Alabama

DL McTelvin Agim, Arkansas

DL Chauncey Rivers, Mississippi State

DL Tyler Clark, Georgia

LB Terrell Lewis, Alabama

LB Jacob Phillips, LSU

LB Kash Daniel, Kentucky

DB DeMarkus Acy, Missouri

DB Shyheim Carter, Alabama

DB Richard LeCounte, Georgia

DB Daniel Thomas, Auburn



P Braden Mann, Texas A&M

PK Rodrigo Blankenship, Georgia

RS Jaylen Waddle, Alabama

AP Jaylen Waddle, Alabama


P Tommy Townsend, Florida

PK Anders Carlson, Auburn

RS Marquez Callaway, Tennessee

AP Kadarius Toney, Florida


P Arryn Siposs, Auburn

PK Evan McPherson, Florida

RS Jashaun Corbin, Texas A&M

AP Lynn Bowden, Kentucky

* - Indicates a tie