clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

PJ Washington a finalist for Karl Malone award; you can help vote for him

Drew Brown - Sea of Blue

Kentucky Wildcats forward PJ Washington is now among the finalists for the Karl Malone Award.

On Thursday, it was announced that Washington was picked by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame as one of five finalists competing for the honor of the nation’s top power forward.

Named after Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Famer Karl Malone, this year’s award will be presented at the ESPN College Basketball Awards Show on April 12. Washington is looking to become the first Wildcat to win the award since its inception in 2015.

This year’s finalists also include Mike Daum (South Dakota State), Dedric Lawson (Kansas), Grant Williams (Tennessee) and Zion Williamson (Duke).

Previous winners of the Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award include Deandre Ayton, Arizona (2018); Johnathan Motley, Baylor (2017); Georges Niang, Iowa State (2016); and Montrezl Harrell, Louisville (2015).

This is actually an award fans can help Washington win by visiting to cast your votes from March 8-29.