clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

UK Hoops racks up SEC awards

The AP and coaches honored several Wildcats with postseason awards.

NCAA Womens Basketball: SEC Conference Tournament-Kentucky vs Mississippi State Jim Brown-USA TODAY Sports

The Kentucky Wildcats just wrapped up a 24-6 regular-season record and 11-5 mark in SEC play, good enough for a fourth-place finish.

This, after the media picked UK to finish seventh in the league prior to the 2018-19 season. Now, the Cats are getting the respect they deserve with a host of postseason awards.

On Tuesday, the Associated Press announced their SEC award winners, which included freshman guard Rhyne Howard being named the SEC Newcomer of the Year. Howard and senior guard Maci Morris were named All-SEC Second-Team.

In addition, the SEC coaches have honored several Wildcats, including head coach Matthew Mitchell, who was named SEC Co-Coach of the Year, sharing the honors with Mississippi State’s Vin Schaefer.

Howard was named the SEC Freshman of the Year, and Morris earned SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year. Howard and Morris were also named to the All-SEC First Team, while Murray was on the SEC All-Defensive Team. Both Howard and Blair Green were tabbed SEC All-Freshman performers.

AP’s SEC Awards


Chennedy Carter, Texas A&M, G, 5-foot-7, Soph., Manfield, Texas

Sophie Cunningham, Missouri, G, 6-1, Sr., Columbia, Missouri

Anriel Howard, Mississippi State, F, 5-11, Sr., Atlanta (Texas A&M transfer)

Teaira McCowan, Mississippi State, C, 6-7, Sr., Brenham, Texas

Caliya Robinson, Georgia, F, 6-3, Sr., Marietta, Georgia


Rennia Davis, Tennessee, G/F, 6-2, Soph., Jacksonville, Florida

Chelsea Dungee, Arkansas, G, 5-11, Soph., Sapulpa, Oklahoma (Oklahoma transfer)

Tyasha Harris, South Carolina, G, 5-10, Jr., Noblesville, Indiana

Rhyne Howard, Kentucky, F, 6-2, Fr., Cleveland, Tennessee

Maci Morris, Kentucky, G, 6 feet, Sr., Pineville, Kentucky

Player of the year - Teaira McCowan, Mississippi State

Coach of the year - Vic Schaefer, Mississippi State

Newcomer of the year - Rhyne Howard, Kentucky

Coaches’ SEC Awards

Co-Coaches of the Year: Matthew Mitchell, UK and Vic Schaefer, MSU

Player of the Year: Teaira McCowan, MSU

Freshman of the Year: Rhyne Howard, UK

Defensive Player of the Year: Teaira McCowan, MSU

6th Woman of the Year: Cierra Porter, MIZ

Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Maci Morris, UK


Sophie Cunningham, MIZ

Teaira McCowan, MSU

Chennedy Carter, TAMU

Caliya Robinson, UG

Anriel Howard, MSU

Rhyne Howard, UK

Ayana Mitchell, LSU

Maci Morris, UK


Tyasha Harris, SC

Chelsea Dungee, AR

Te’a Cooper, SC

Janiah McKay, AU

Rennia Davis, UT

Alexis Jennings, SC

Mariella Fasoula, VU

Crystal Allen, UM


Taylor Murray, UK

Teaira McCowan, MSU

Caliya Robinson , UG

Janiah McKay, AU

Jazzmun Holmes, MSU


Rhyne Howard, UK

Zaay Green, UT

Destanni Henderson, SC

Victaria Saxton, SC

Brinae Alexander, VU

Akira Levy, MIZ

Robyn Benton, AU

Blair Green, UK