clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

4 Wildcats honored by SEC coaches

Keldon Johnson was named SEC Freshman of the Year.

Keldon Johnson Jamie Boggs - Sea of Blue

The Kentucky Wildcats continue to rack up SEC awards.

Earlier today, the Associated Press named PJ Washington a First-Team All-SEC pick, while Tyler Herro was named SEC Newcomer of the Year.

Now, the SEC coaches have awarded four Wildcats with postseason SEC honors:

Freshman guard Keldon Johnson won SEC Freshman of the Year. He was also a Second-Team All-SEC pick and made the All-Freshman Team.

Freshman guard Ashton Hagans shared Defensive Player of the Year honors with LSU guard Tremont Waters. Hagans was also named to the SEC All-Defensive Team.

Washington was named a First-Team All-SEC pick by the coaches, while Herro earned Second-Team All-SEC honors and was named to the All-Freshman Team.

Here is a recap of the Wildcats who earned honors from the AP and coaches:

· Washington – All-SEC First Team (coaches/AP)

· Johnson – Freshman of the Year (coaches), All-SEC Second Team (coaches), All-Freshman Team (coaches)

· Herro – Newcomer of the Year (AP) All-SEC Second Team (coaches), All-Freshman Team (coaches)

· Hagans – Co-Defensive Player of the Year (coaches), All-Defensive Team (coaches)

2019 SEC Coaches’ Awards

All-SEC First Team

Daniel Gafford, Arkansas

PJ Washington, Kentucky

Tremont Waters, LSU

Breein Tyree, Ole Miss

Quinndary Weatherspoon, Mississippi St.

Chris Silva, South Carolina

Admiral Schofield, Tennessee

Grant Williams, Tennessee

All-SEC Second Team

Bryce Brown, Auburn

Jared Harper, Auburn

Nicolas Claxton, Georgia

Tyler Herro, Kentucky

Keldon Johnson, Kentucky

Skylar Mays, LSU

Terence Davis, Ole Miss

Jordan Bone, Tennessee

All-Freshman Team

Kira Lewis Jr., Alabama

Isaiah Joe, Arkansas

Andrew Nembhard, Florida

Tyler Herro, Kentucky

Keldon Johnson, Kentucky

Naz Reid, LSU

Reggie Perry, Mississippi State

A.J. Lawson, South Carolina

All-Defensive Team

Donta Hall, Alabama

Daniel Gafford, Arkansas

Ashton Hagans, Kentucky

Tremont Waters, LSU

Chris Silva, South Carolina

Coach of the Year: Kermit Davis, Ole Miss

Player of the Year: Grant Williams, Tennessee

Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Skylar Mays, LSU

Freshman of the Year: Keldon Johnson, Kentucky

Sixth-Man of the Year: Hassani Gravett, South Carolina

Co-Defensive Players of the Year: Tremont Waters, LSU & Ashton Hagans, Kentucky

Go follow our Twitter page and ‘like’ our Facebook page to get all of the latest Kentucky Wildcats news and views.