clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Former referee explains final sequence of Kentucky vs. LSU

New, comments

Two controversial plays happened in the final seconds, but only one of them was actually illegal.

Drew Brown - Sea of Blue

Kentucky fans are trying to forget about the brutal loss to No. 19 LSU on Tuesday night, but there’s still great debate as to what happened on the final play of the game.

LSU won the game on a controversial tip-in by Kavell Bigby-Williams that appeared to have been goaltending, which gave the Tigers a 73-71 win. Had it not been called, Kentucky and LSU would have gone into overtime tied at 71-all.

Needless to say, that no-call cost Kentucky a chance to win in overtime, but the way LSU controlled the second half, it was far from a sure thing the Wildcats could win in the extra period.

Still, everyone was cheated out of an extra five minutes to decide what had become a thrilling game.

Despite the seemingly obvious no-call for goaltending on LSU, some argued that Kentucky’s EJ Montgomery actually interfered before the lay in which would have given LSU the basket anyways.

As you can see below Montgomery’s hand went through the net prior to the shot.

However, the fact Montgomery’s arm went through the net as Skylar Mays released his shot means there was no interference, according to former NCAA basketball official Gene Steratore.

Clearly, Montgomery’s contact with the net came before the ball hit the rim, meaning the refs were right not to call interference on Kentucky. However, Steratore made it clear that Bigby-Williams touching the ball after Mays’s shot already was within the cylinder was a goaltend.

Despite the final call being the dagger Kentucky had an eight-point lead at the half and can only blame themselves for the loss. They will have a chance for redemption Saturday against No. 1 Tennessee.