clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Kentucky vs. Tennessee game time and channel announced

It will be another night game at Kroger Field.

Kentucky v Tennessee Photo by Donald Page/Getty Images

The Kentucky Wildcats will take on the Tennessee Volunteers on Saturday, November 9th at 7:30 pm EST at Kroger Field in a game that has shaped up to be crucial for both teams. It will be another primetime night game in Lexington. The game will be broadcast on the SEC Network.

After week one of the season it looked as if the Vols, lead by second year head coach Jeremy Pruitt, were destined for a nightmare season. But after losing to Georgia State and BYU in their first two games, Tennessee has fought their way back to 3-5 and are hungry to get bowl eligible.

The Cats will come off their second bye week of the season after putting together one of their best performances this year in beating Missouri 29-7 on October 26th. After consecutive games in about as horrible weather as it gets, this off week should be welcomed by Marks Stoops and team.

Lynn Bowden has embraced his role as quarterback and is becoming one of the most lethal rushing options on all of college football. In his last three games, Bowden has ran for an incredible 499 yards.

At this point, it seems at any quarterback controversy has been all but shut down. Even with Sawyer Smith entering the Missouri game for three snaps and having another week to get healthy, you just can’t imagine Eddie Gran going away from getting the ball in Bowden’s hands as much as possible.

Then there is the Kentucky defense who has completely smothered their opponents over the last few weeks. Since the Arkansas game, Brad White’s defense has given up an average of only 16 points. If the Cats can keep holding opponents to those kind of numbers then they will be tough to beat in the last 4 games of the 2019 regular season.

A major storyline in this game will be what happened last year in Knoxville. Kentucky was outplayed in every facet of the game losing 24-7 to the Vols in what was their worst performance of the 2018 season.

The Vols QB, Jarrett Guarantano, was injured in the third quarter of Tennessee’s win over South Carolina on October 26th. Before leaving the game with that hand injury, he was having a career game. His health will likely be a major factor in this one.

The Vols take a running back by committee approach with Ty Chandler, Tim Jordan, and Eric Gray all with over 50 touches this season.

Kentucky still needs to win two of their final four games to get bowl eligible, but clearly their goal will be to win out. One thing is for sure, both fans and players deserve some better weather. The past two games have been absolutely brutal. But the most important thing will be getting that fifth win heading into their match up with Tennessee Martin, which should be a given.

The Cats performance against the Vols could determine the overall success of their 2019 campaign.

SEC TV Schedule for Week 11

  • Vanderbilt at Florida, 12 pm ET / 11 am CT on ESPN
  • Western Kentucky at Arkansas, 12 pm ET / 11 am CT on SEC Network
  • LSU at Alabama, 3:30 pm ET / 2:30 pm CT on CBS
  • New Mexico State at Ole Miss, 4 pm ET / 3 pm CT on SEC Network
  • Missouri at Georgia, 7 pm ET / 6 pm CT on ESPN
  • Appalachian State at South Carolina, 7 pm ET / 6 pm CT on ESPN2
  • Tennessee at Kentucky, 7:30 pm ET / 6:30 pm CT on SEC Network