clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Kahlil Whitney on Julius Erving Award Preseason Watch List

Whitney joins the list of Cats getting preseason honors.

Kahlil Whitney UK Athletics

The Kentucky Wildcats have yet another player on a preseason watch list.

The latest player to join a preseason award watch list is small forward Kahlil Whitney, who is one of the 20 players listed for the 2020 Julius Erving Award, which is given to the nation’s best small forward.

Whitney and Florida’s Scottie Lewis are the only SEC players to make the list that includes several freshmen throughout the country.

Whitney came in as the No. 11 player in the nation and has been viewed as one of the top players on this year's’ team.

The award is named after Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Famer Julius Erving, and it will be presented at the ESPN College Basketball Awards Show in April.

No Kentucky player has taken home the award since it was created in 2015, but Whitney will be looking to change that this season.

2020 Julius Erving Award Watch List

  • Josh Green- Arizona
  • Matthew Hurt- Duke
  • Scottie Lewis- Florida
  • Corey Kispert- Gonzaga
  • Seth Towns- Harvard
  • Xavier Sneed- Kansas State
  • Kahlil Whitney- Kentucky
  • Jordan Nwora- Louisville
  • Precious Achiuwa- Memphis
  • Tres Tinkle- Oregon State
  • Alpha Diallo- Providence
  • Nojel Eastern- Purdue
  • LJ Figueroa- St. John’s
  • Elijah Hughes- Syracuse
  • Chris Clarke- Texas Tech
  • Anthony Lamb- Vermont
  • Saddiq Bey- Villanova
  • Jaden McDaniels- Washington
  • CJ Elleby- Washington State
  • Naji Marshall- Xavier