clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Josh Allen wins Chuck Bednarik Award

Another huge award for the Wildcat great.

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Josh Allen Jason Marcum - Sea of Blue

In what was the latest award dinners of many for Josh Allen, he is two for two in going home a winner.

Tonight, Allen took home the Chuck Bednarik Award, given to the best defensive player in the nation. It came after Allen was named the Bronko Nagurski Award winner earlier this week.

Allen is the first winner from the University of Kentucky to take home the Bednarik. He joins many former and current NFL stars such as Aaron Donald, Tyrann Mathieu, and Patrick Peterson among others.

Allen beat a very impressive 2018 field which included, Clemson’s Christian Wilkins, and Alabama’s Quinnen Williams.

Chuck Bednarik, former standout at Penn and with the Philadelphia Eagles, is a member of both the College Football Hall of Fame’s Class of ‘69 and the NFL Hall of Fame’s Class of ‘67.

The senior had a historic season, finishing tied for second in the nation and leading the SEC with 14 sacks, which also broke Kentucky’s all-time single-season sack record and helped him break the Cats program’s all-time sack record.

Allen also showed a knack to be a ball hawk. He forced five forced fumbles which was tied with six other players for the most in the entire nation and tied with Florida’s Jachai Polite for the SEC lead.

This is Allen’s second national award, and he will have a chance to take home Ted Hendricks Award and the Lott IMPACT trophy award.

Even if this ends up being his only two awards the future first-round pick’s resume just got a little better.

Go follow our Twitter page to get all of the latest Kentucky Wildcats news and views. And check out our latest Kentucky Football shirt for just $15.