clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Former Kentucky Wildcats Earn NBA Honors

Anthony Davis and Jamal Murray were honored.

NBA: Los Angeles Clippers at Phoenix Suns Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports

In the First Annual All NBA Awards Anthony Davis was named to the All NBA Defensive Team second unit. And Jamal Murray was named to the second team All Rookie squad. The dominance of the John Calipari led Wildcats was on full display once again.

Murray led the second team in votes with 34 missing out on the first team by 10 votes. It was the third year in a row the Cats had a player on the All Rookie team and the fifth time in the last six years.

Davis has been named to the All Defensive Team twice.

It is the first time the NBA has held an awards show to reveal the MVP, Rookie Of The Year and other honors.

Players were awarded two points for a first team vote and one point for a second team vote. Voters were asked to vote for two guards, two forwards and a center. Players with votes in multiple categories were assigned to the one where they received the most votes.

Malcolm Brogdon, of the Milwaukee Bucks, won the Rookie Of The Year honor. He was the first non-first round draft pick to win that award in the “common era” (since 1966).

Mike D'Antoni, of the Houston Rockets, was chosen coach of the year. Bob Myers, of Golden State Warriors, won Exec of the Year. Kemba Walker, of the Charlotte Hornets, won the NBA Sportsmanship award.

Giannis Antetokounmpo of the Milwaukee Bucks won the Most Improved Award, and Eric Gordon of the Houston Rockets was named Sixth Man Of The Year.

Draymond Green, of the Golden State Warriors, was named Defensive Player Of The Year. Russell Westbrook, of the OKC Thunder, won the MVP award.