clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Kentucky Basketball vs Kansas in Rupp Arena set

The SEC has finally announced the details of the SEC/Big 12 Challenge games next year.

Jamie Squire/Getty Images

The monster clash between the Kentucky Wildcats and Kansas Jayhawks in Rupp Arena is now set, the SEC announced Tuesday in a press release.

The game is part of the annual Big 12/SEC Challenge, which once again takes place during conference play as the two blue-blood programs face off in January. That was the case last season as UK and Kansas battled into overtime in Phog Allen Fieldhouse. The Jayhawks’ return trip on Jan. 28 will mark the first time the two schools have met inside Rupp Arena since Jan. 9, 2005.

All 10 of the Big 12's teams and 10 of the SEC's 14 members will take part in this year's event. Each of the 10 SEC teams that participated in the 2016 Challenge are playing in the 2017 event.

"The SEC/Big 12 Challenge is a unique opportunity to showcase our basketball programs. As evidenced this past season, playing the event on a single-date in January puts our programs in the college basketball spotlight," SEC Commissioner Greg Sankey said.

This will be the second year that a bye in the league schedule for participating teams was created to accommodate the single-day format.  Seven of the 10 games will be televised on ESPN or ESPN2, one game on ESPN2 or ESPNU and two games will air on ESPNU.

All 10 games will also be available via WatchESPN. ESPN's College GameDay Covered by State Farm -€” the Saturday roadshow that discusses the top storylines of the college basketball season -€” will originate from one of the Challenge games, likely the UK vs KU game in Rupp Arena.

Start times and network designations will be announced at a later date.

SEC/Big 12 Challenge Presented by Sonic (January 28, 2017):

  • Texas at Georgia
  • Baylor at Ole Miss
  • Kansas at Kentucky
  • Texas A&M at West Virginia
  • Florida at Oklahoma
  • Iowa State at Vanderbilt
  • Kansas State at Tennessee
  • Arkansas at Oklahoma State
  • Auburn at TCU
  • LSU at Texas Tech