clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Tyler Ulis a Naismith Trophy Finalist

The hardware continues to roll in for Tyler Ulis.

Andy Lyons/Getty Images

The season may be over for the Kentucky Wildcats, but the awards and honors will continue to roll in over the coming weeks.

The latest is for point guard Tyler Ulis being named one of four finalists for the Naismith Trophy, awarded annually to the nation's best college hoops player. Ulis is the only non-senior of the four finalists, which includes Virginia's Malcolm Brogdon, Oklahoma's Buddy Hield and Michigan State's Denzel Valentine.

Ulis ended this season with 246 assists, setting the new single-season school record previously held by John Wall. Until the season's final game, Ulis had a streak of 28 consecutive games with four or more assists, the longest streak in school history since at least 1972-73.

Ulis finished the season averaging 17.3 points and an SEC-best 7.0 assists. Through games on Saturday, he ranks seventh nationally in assists and sixth in the country with a 3.6 assist-to-turnover ratio. Ulis completed the year with the single-season school record for most 20-point, five-assist games with 14.

The 5-9 ball of fire has already been named to the Sporting News All-America First Team and the SEC Player of the Year by both the league's coaches and the Associated Press. Here is a recap of the honors Ulis has already received this postseason:

·         Naismith Trophy finalist

·         Sporting News All-America First Team

·         USBWA All-America Second Team

·         SEC Player of the Year (Coaches/AP)

·         SEC Tournament MVP

·         SEC Defensive Player of the Year (Coaches)

·         All-SEC First Team (Coaches/AP)

·         SEC All-Defensive Team (Coaches)

·         USA Today All-America First Team

·         CBS Sports SEC Player of the Year

·         USBWA District IV Player of the Year

·         USBWA All-District IV Team

·         Bob Cousy finalist

·         John R. Wooden Award finalist

·         USBWA Oscar Robertson finalist

This year's Naismith Trophy will be presented at the Naismith Awards Brunch on April 3 in Houston, site of the Final Four.