clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

De'Aaron Fox may be first HS Naismith Award Winner under John Calipari at UK

Fox has the chance to do something no UK signee has done under John Calipari.

Kelly Kline/Getty Images

Kentucky Wildcats signee De'Aaron Fox has been named one of five finalists for the Naismith Awards Boy's High School Player of the Year.

Amazingly, John Calipari has never signed a Naismith Boys’ High School Player of the Year at Kentucky, despite landing names like John Wall, DeMarcus Cousins, Anthony Davis, Nerlens Noel, Brandon Knight (was named Gatorade Player of the Year) and Karl-Anthony Towns. The Wildcats’ only winner of the award is former NCAA champion Ron Mercer way back 1995. Cal did land Naismith winner Dajuan Wagner, but that was at Memphis back in 2001.

Fox is making a strong bid to be this year's winner while thriving during his senior season at Cypress Lakes High School in Katy, Texas. He's scored 30 or more points in 17 games this season, 40 or more six times and even hit the 50-point mark in a February game.

Here are the finalists:

Lonzo Ball Chino Hills, Calif. Chino Hills PG UCLA
Miles Bridges Flint, Mich. Huntington (WVa.) Prep SF Michigan State
De'Aaron Fox Katy, Texas Cypress Lakes PG Kentucky
Josh Jackson Southfield, Mich. Prolific Prep (Napa, Calif.) SF Undecided
Jayson Tatum St. Louis Chaminade SF Duke

As of now, Fox is rated as the No. 2 overall prospect by 247Sports. Scout ranks him at No. 4, Rivals has him at No. 5 and ESPN tabs him No. 7. Scout and 247Sports both rank the five-star prospect as the No. 1 point guard in the 2016 class.

The winner of the Naismith Awards Boy's High School Player of the Year will be announced March 10. The All-American Teams will be revealed March 8.