clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

College Football Playoff 2015-16 Field Set

A look at who will be competing in this season's College Football Playoff.

We now know who will be competing in this year's College Football Playoff for the right to be crowned national champions.

The Alabama Crimson Tide, Clemson Tigers, Michigan State Spartans, and Oklahoma Sooner will make up this year's four-team CFP field. None of this comes as a surprise after Oklahoma, Michigan State and Alabama finished their seasons with only one loss.

Clemson is the No. 1 seed based on their 13-0 record that culminated with a win over the North Carolina Tar Heels in the ACC Championship on Saturday. There wasn't any real question as to if the Tigers would claim the top spot in the playoff field.

As for Alabama, they clinched their spot in the CFP thanks to a win over the Florida Gators in the SEC Championship on Saturday. Bama made a strong push to get that No. 1 seed, but the unbeaten Tigers did just enough to outlast the Tide for the top spot.

Oklahoma locked up their spot last week with a big win over the Oklahoma State Cowboys. before getting a bye week. The Sooners have also made a strong push following an embarrassing loss — theirs being to 5-7 Texas — and reeled off wins over Baylor, Oklahoma State and TCU down the stretch top power their way into the CFP field.

Michigan State clinched their spot in the field with  their Big Ten Championship win over the Iowa Hawkeyes. It's been quite a run for MSU after their gut-wrenching loss to 5-7 Nebraska as the Spartans have reeled off wins over Ohio State and Iowa since then to get back into the national title hunt.

College Football Playoff 2015-16 Field

Bowl Game

Team A

Team B





Michigan State

December 31

Arlington, TX




December 31