clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Cory Johnson named to AP All-SEC team

Mark Zerof-USA TODAY Sports

Kentucky Wildcats defensive tackle Cory 'Poop' Johnson has been named to the Associated Press All-SEC Second Team, it was announced Monday.

This was a much-deserved honor for Johnson, who was snubbed from the Coaches All-SEC teams that were announced last week. Johnson was a monster on the defensive line and was easily one of, if not the best player UK had this season. He finished with 67 total tackles, the most by any SEC defensive lineman, while also notching a team-high 8.0 tackles for loss to go with two sacks, a forced fumble, an interception, and a fumble returned for a 77-yard touchdown vs Tennessee.

Johnson has also been selected to play in the East/West Shrine Game in January, a game in which some of the top college seniors play in hopes of boosting their NFL draft stock while getting to work with pro coaches and executives.

Here is the complete AP All-SEC football teams (u-unanimous; t-tie):

First-team offense

QB Dak Prescott, Mississippi State, 6-2, 230, Sr.

RB u-Derrick Henry, Alabama, 6-3, 242, Jr.

RB u-Leonard Fournette, LSU, 6-1, 230, So.

WR Laquon Treadwell, Ole Miss, 6-2, 210, Jr.

WR Pharoh Cooper, South Carolina, 5-11, 207, Jr.

TE Hunter Henry, Arkansas, 6-5, 253, Jr.

OL Cam Robinson, Alabama, 6-6, 326, So.

OL Vadal Alexander, LSU, 6-6, 329, Sr.

OL John Theus, Georgia, 6-6, 303, Sr.

OL Sebastian Tretola, Arkansas, 6-5, 334, Sr.

C Ryan Kelly, Alabama, 6-5, 297, Sr.

PK u-Daniel Carlson, Auburn, 6-4, 213, So.

All-Purpose Christian Kirk, Texas A&M, 5-11, 200, Fr.

First-team defense

DL Myles Garrett, Texas A&M, 6-5, 262, So.

DL Jon Bullard, Florida, 6-3, 280, Sr.

DL Jonathan Allen, Alabama, 6-3, 283, Jr.

DL A'Shawn Robinson, Alabama, 6-4, 312, Jr.

LB Reggie Ragland, Alabama, 6-2, 252, Sr.

LB Kentrell Brothers, Missouri, 6-1, 235, Sr.

LB Zach Cunningham, Vanderbilt, 6-4, 230, So.

CB u-Vernon Hargreaves, Florida, 5-11, 200, Jr.

CB Jalen Tabor, Florida, 6-0, 197, So.

S Eddie Jackson, Alabama, 6-0, 194, Jr.

S Dominick Sanders, Georgia, 6-0, 189, So.

P Drew Kaser, Texas A&M, 6-3, 215, Sr.

Second-team offense

QB Chad Kelly, Mississippi, 6-2, 215, Jr.

RB Alex Collins, Arkansas, 5-11, 215, Jr.

RB Jalen Hurd, Tennessee, 6-4, 240, So.

WR Fred Ross, Mississippi State, 6-2, 207, Jr.

WR t-Drew Morgan, Arkansas, 6-0, 195, Jr.

WR t-Calvin Ridley, Alabama, 6-1, 188, Fr.

TE Jake McGee, Florida, 6-6, 244, Sr.

OL Dan Skipper, Arkansas, 6-10, 331, Jr.

OL Kyler Kerbyson, Tennessee, 6-4, 318, Sr.

OL Braden Smith, Auburn, 6-6, 286, So.

OL Dylan Wiesman, Tennessee, 6-4, 304, Jr.

C Brandon Kublanow, Georgia, 6-3, 282, Jr.

PK Taylor Bertolet, Texas A&M, 5-9, 188, Sr.

All-Purpose t-Pharoh Cooper, South Carolina, 5-11, 207, Jr.

All-Purpose t-Evan Berry, Tennessee, 5-11, 207, So.

Second-team defense

DL Robert Nkemdiche, Mississippi, 6-4, 296, Jr.

DL Jarran Reed, Alabama, 6-4, 313, Sr.

DL Derek Barnett, Tennessee, 6-3, 257, So.

DL  t-Cory Johnson, Kentucky, 6-3, 300, Sr.

DL  t-Marquis Haynes, Mississippi, 6-3, 220, So.

DL t-Charles Harris, Missouri, 6-3, 255, So.

LB Antonio Morrison, Florida, 6-1, 234, Sr.

LB Skai Moore, South Carolina, 6-2, 218, Jr.

LB Jalen Reeves-Maybin, Tennessee, 6-0, 225, Jr.

CB Tre'Davious White, LSU, 5-11, 191, Jr.

CB Mike Hilton, Mississippi, 5-9, 184, Sr.

S Trae Elston, Mississippi, 5-11, 195, Sr.

S Jamal Adams, LSU, 6-1, 211, So.

P Johnny Townsend, Florida, 6-1, 200, So.


Offensive Player of the Year: u-Derrick Henry, RB, Alabama

Defensive Player of the Year: Reggie Ragland, LB, Alabama

Coach of the Year: Jim McElwain, Florida

Newcomer of the Year: Christian Kirk, Texas A&M