clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Kentucky Wildcats Basketball picked to win SEC; 3 Cats named to preseason All-SEC teams

Mark Zerof-USA TODAY Sports

The Kentucky Wildcats have been picked to win the 2016 SEC men's basketball championship, the league announced Wednesday during SEC Media Day.

The vote was conducted by a select panel of both SEC and national media members, and here are the results of how it came out:

Preseason Media Poll

1.    Kentucky                    

2.    Vanderbilt                  

3.    Texas A&M              

4.    LSU                      

5.    Georgia                   

6.    Florida                

7.    South Carolina              

8.    Mississippi State                   

9.    Ole Miss                   

10.  Auburn                   

11.  Arkansas                

12.  Tennessee   

13.  Alabama                   

14.  Missouri

The Wildcats are the overall preseason favorite for the 11th time since the 1998-99 season.

Kentucky's Skal Labissiere and Tyler Ulis were First Team All-SEC selection with Ulis, while senior forward Alex Poythress was a Second Team pick.

LSU Tigers freshman Ben Simmons was the choice of the media for SEC Men's Basketball Player of the Year.

First Team All-SEC

Danuel House - Texas A&M, G, 6-7, 212, Sr., Fresno, Texas

Damian Jones - Vanderbilt, C, 7-0, 245, Jr., Baton Rouge, La.

Skal Labissiere - Kentucky, F, 6-11, 225, Fr., Port-au-Prince, Haiti

Stefan Moody - Ole Miss, G, 5-10, 179, Sr., Kissimmee, Fla.

Ben Simmons - LSU, F, 6-10, 225, Fr., Melbourne, Australia

Tyler Ulis - Kentucky, G, 5-9, 160, So., Lima, Ohio

Second Team All-SEC

Dorian Finney-Smith - Florida, F, 6-8, 220, Sr., Portsmouth, Va.

Malik Newman - Mississippi State, G, 6-3, 178, Fr., Jackson, Miss.

Charles Mann - Georgia, G, 6-5, 215, Sr., Alpharetta, Ga.

Alex Poythress - Kentucky, F, 6-8, 230, Sr., Clarksville, Tenn.

Tim Quarterman - LSU, G, 6-6, 190, Jr., Savannah, Ga.

Alex Caruso - Texas A&M, G, 6-5, 186, Sr., College Station, Texas

SEC Player of the Year: Ben Simmons, LSU